Hanover Republican
Women's Club
Membership
Meeting-April 16, 2024
Anna's Italian
Restaurant
Mechanicsville, VA

Call To Order: President
Tywana Hampton
Welcome:
President Tywana
Hampton
Invocation: President
Tywana Hampton

Pledge of Allegiance: President Hampton **HRWC Mission Statement:** Ms Barbara Pendleton RPV Creed: 1st Vice **President: Sue Cobb** Recognition of Elected Officials and Guests Senator Mark Peake Member VA Senate representing 22nd

District
Wayne Hazzard
Former Supervisor, South

Anna District Ryan Hudson Supervisor, Mechanicsville **Distict** Mackenzie Babichenko Hanover County Commonwealth's Attorney Jack Dyer Chairman, Hanover Republican Committee Helen Sharp Field Director for Robb Wittman's Campaign Senator Ryan McDougle Member VA Senate

## representing 26th District

Minutes presented by Karen Starnes, Recording Secretary. Motion made by Jenny Mundy to accept Minutes as presented. Motion seconded by Nancy Russell and Members voted to accept minutes unanimously. Gerri Nolan, Corresponding Secretary advised the members that

she had received a Card of Thanks from Sheriff Dave Heinz for the contributions our Club had donated to the Hanover County Sheriff's Dept last month.

Treasurer's Report by
Bernie Cornelius- Bernie
advised that we raised
\$572.00 from the auction
last month. The auction
will continue every other
month and
Members are encouraged

to bring salable items to bid on and hopefully we can get Sean Davis to act as Auctioneer again. The Treasurer's report is attached.

2nd VP- Jill Soniker- Two new Associate members have been added to our rolls, Meir Binshtuk and Linda Porter.

Presentation of VFRW 'S

Special Project-Liza

Bradford reported on our special project for

Veterans, "Paws for Purple Hearts" and she actually visited where the Dogs are trained. She asked Club Members to please make checks out to this project. **President Hampton** reported on the status of our Scholarship applications. Currently,

applications. Currently, she has not received any applications. She plans on following up with the Schools to see what can

be done to encourage getting applications.

Panel Discussion by

Speakers: Senator Ryan

McDougle, Senator Mark

Peake and Delegate

Scott Wyatt: 1st VP Sue

Cobb introduced our speakers.

Senator McDougle talked about the reconvening of the General Assembly and his role as Senate Minority Leader. They are reconvening to approve

the budget Without increasing revenues. Senator Peake advised the session will be 45-60 days. He believes one of his major duties is going out and meeting potential new Voters and spreading the Republican message of Law and Order. He believes that Republicans are concerned more with law abiding Citizens and not the law

Breakers. Delegate Scott Wyatt spoke about some of the specific bills up for votes.

New Business- President
Hampton advised that
because this is the last
month before the VFRW
2024 Convention, we have
to vote on the Delegates
we are sending.

We can send 4 delegates at this point and President Hampton asked for a motion to vote the

following in as delegates: Jill Soniker, Liza Bradford, Sue Cobb and President Hampton. Sue Hughes is running as 1st VP of the VFRW and Nancy Russell is running for 2nd VP of the VFRW and they are not counted in the delegate number. President Hampton was advised she may name an alternate in addition to the Delegates if someone comes forward.

## **Announcements:**

Congratulations to Jack Dyer, Chairman of the Hanover GOP whose Club won 1st Place over 130 other GOP Clubs to win the 2023 Richard D. Obenshain Award for RPV Unit of the year. Jill Soniker reminded Members that 1 week from today the Tea Party would be meeting with Representative Bob Good. Please remember

upcoming primaries.
Lauren Keiser reminded
members that a campaign
for State Central and the
meeting will be May 4th,
2024.

The 50/50 collected \$80 and Ryan Hudson won. He donated his half to Hanover Safe Place. Our next meeting will be May 21, 2024. Meeting adjourned at 7:40 pm.

## Respectfully Submitted,

Karen Starnes
HRWC Recording
Secretary